Soldiers of the 4th Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment, form the vigil party which stood guard at the cenotaph throughout the dedication ceremony for the Sir Arthur Currie memorial statue, 4 Aug 2014.
Strathroy, Middlesex County, Ontario
The data tabled below comes from forms maintained by the District Engineers of Military District No. 1 (which covered southwestern Ontario) on the Armouries and facilities in their district. The data on the transcribed forms was recorded in the 1940s and reflects the state and use of the buildings in that era. Some of the Armouries in use at that time continue to be the homes of local Reserve Force units, some have been repurposed, and others are long gone, the sites now home to other buildings. The area controlled by Military District No. 1 in the 1940s is now in the area of responsibility of 31 Canadian Brigade Group.
The original Armoury Building.
The current site: the Library and Museum.
Strathroy Armoury - Basement.
The Armoury site in Strathroy, Ontario, is now occupied by the town's Library and Museum. The town's War Memorial remains on the site and has been, as of 4 August 2014, joined by a memorial statue of Sir Arthur Currie.
|Military District||M.D. No. 1|
|Electoral District||Middlesex, W.R.|
|H.Q. File||L. 13-9-7|
|Date||31 March 1944|
|1.||Building Ownership.||Department of National Defence|
|2.||If purchased, date, conditions, cost, etc., and value.|
|3.||If constructed, date and cost and what Department and value.||Date 1907. Cost approximately $18,125. Present value $20,000.|
|(a)||Drainage, sewer and water connection. To be shown on site plan.||Septic tank and tile in rear of Armoury. 6" tile to sewer on street. 1" water connection to street.|
|(b)||Foundation.||Stone and concrete.|
|(c)||Walls.||Brick and sandstone.|
|(d)||Roof framing.||Wood framing (hopper) construction.|
|(e)||Roof covering (Type and date).||Tar and gravel, Hopper, when built.|
|(f)||Floor, main hall.||Maple floor, over dressed lumber on 2" x 4" joists at 16" centres.|
|(g)||Other floors.||Maple floor, over dressed lumber on 2" x 4" joists at 16" centres. Concrete floor in basement.|
|(h)||Partitions.||Brick and plaster inside walls.|
|5.||Miniature rifle range—Description.||None.|
|6.||Bowling alleys, badminton courts, indoor baseball or other facilities for games.|
|(a)||General Description.||Hot Water Circulating System, radiators in all rooms.|
|(b)||Make and size heating apprs.||The daisy 6 1/2 A|
|(c)||Fuel per annum.||18 tons.|
|(d)||Engineer and fireman specially employed.||None.|
|8.||Lighting system—General description.||Electricity.|
|9.||Fire protection. Show position of standpipes in building, on site or on street plan.||Town Fire Department. Hydrant on street in front of building. 1 stand pipe in building.|
|(a)||Military or Civilian.||Civilian (part time).|
|(b)||Quartered in Armoury.||No.|
|(c)||Does he tend heating apprs.||Yes.|
|11.||Units in occupation.||"A" Company, Middlesex and Huron Regiment.|
|12.||General condition (Adequate space or not).||Adequate|
|Clothing, Equipment, fixtures (adequate or not).||Adequate|
|13.||Any special remarks not included above.|
|(a)||Ownership.||Department of National Defence|
|(b)||How acquired, date, cost and present value.||Purchased in 1911 from the Town of Strathroy for $125, Present value $1,000.|
|(c)||Who holds deed.||District Enginering Officer, M.D. No. 1, London, Ontario|
|(d)||Size and area.||66' x 120'; 0.128 acres.|
|(e)||Name of street and number of lot.||Lots 107-8, corner of James and Frank Streets.|
|(f)||Fences, walks, and roadways on site.||Concrete walk to Main Entrance.|
|(g)||Surface—whether grass and whether kept in condition, and by whom.||Grass, by part time caretaker.|
|(h)||Is any part of site used for other than military purpose. Give details.||No.|
|(i)||Are there any other structures on site. If so give details.||No.|
|(j)||State nature of surface of roads, also sidewalks on adjoining street.||Paved roadway and concrete walk.|
|(k)||Any remarks on site not included above.|
A few photos taken at the unveiling ceremony of the Sir Arthur Currie Memorial in Strathroy, Ontario, 4 Aug 2014.